Gym Day Twenty-One: Extra, Extra!

I nearly messed myself today. Hopping onto the treadmill when I hit the gym I pressed play on the next Couch to 5k workout and heard Laura (the podcast guide) telling me, in her freakishly chirpy voice, that I’d be running three minutes straight with a three min gap, then five mins straight with a four min gap.

WTF?!?!?!

Fortunately, it took only a moment to figure out that I’d played the wrong episode. That’s next week.

-_-

So I’m not looking forward to that. But today was 90 second run, 90 second walk, three minute run, three minute walk. By comparison, not that bad. And may I just say that the three minutes really wasn’t all that bad. I felt it and I was breathing heavily by the time I got to the second circuit, but I didn’t have a crazy urge to stop and gulp huge breaths of air while bending over and clutching my knees. So . . . steadily but surely, it’s working. My endurance, recovery and muscle strength is all improving week on week. Frankly I never thought I’d make it this far, so I’m reeeeeeeeeeeally pleased.

Couch To 5k – Week Three, Run One: Complete

That gave me an hour to go over last week’s routine of weeks, high reps, low weights. And then, I cheekily asked if I could stay for an extra half hour. Once the other half gave me the go ahead I hopped on to the elliptical for the first time in ages and pounded at that for twenty minutes. May I just say . . . I think I prefer the treadmill.

I know, I know, what the hell is happening to me, right? But this exercise lark is kinda addictive. I really want to go to the gym and see how far I can push myself. It’s insane.

I doubt I’ll feel this peppy about it tomorrow when I go to my LEAP session, but Jit has a way of bringing the best out of me. So we’ll see how I do.

Oh, and no pictures again today. Sorry. My phone refuses to play ball and crashes every time I open the camera app. No idea what that is about.

da shared brain signature

One thought on “Gym Day Twenty-One: Extra, Extra!

Leave a Reply

