Healthy Switch: Milk

I’ve resisted this for five weeks. Five weeks of listening to our LEAP leader insist that we scale down the milk we consume. Why? Milk is loaded with fat. -_- Just like everything else, right?

Well, I resisted because I don’t actually consume that much milk. I stopped having cereal ages ago (it’s boring!) and switched to fruit parfait (I’ll take about those another time) that I put together myself. But, last week, it was so cold in the morning and I knew needed something more substantial. So out came the porridge oats.

I don’t know how or why, but I’d forgotten how GOOD porridge is! To the point that I’ve had it every day since with at least 240 ml of milk.

In the LEAP session on Tuesday we got to see just what the ratio of fat to everything else is within milk. Let’s just say, it wasn’t pretty. 😦

The advise cited by our course leader and by the NHS in general is to scale down:

Whole > Semi Skimmed
Semi Skimmed > Skimmed
Skimmed > 1%
1% > You’re probably doing fine 😉

I’ve always used semi skimmed; it’s what I grew up with. But since my boys switched away from my milk to commercial products, I’ve been buying whole milk, meaning there is always a blue-top in the house. On low days, or days when I just don’t care, I find myself ‘stealing’ from their supply and I must say, it’s really very pleasant.

But . . . ! Fatty as sin.

So . . . on Thursday I went out to replenish the fridge and thought: ‘I may as well try it.’ So this is what we have in the fridge right now.

Seems a bit excessive and I don’t think it will make that much difference. However, given that I’ve gone from no milk at all, to almost two-thirds of a pint every day, I figured it would be good to keep the fat content as low as possible.

What do you guys think?
da shared brain signature

Leave a Reply

