Gym Day Twenty: A New Tack

Friday again. I stand here with my hair washed, my body singing with pleasure at the work out. I didn’t believe it, but I really do feel better after some sort of exercise. And the mood tends to last all day. I work better, I sleep better, I feel better and I eat better. I’m just . . . better. Ha, if I had tried this a few years ago who knows where I’d be right now. Running marathons? Climbing mountains? Coaching? Heh, not likely, but I wish I had started sooner.

Ho hum. Life is about moving forward.

Today I changed things up again. Though I started with the last run from week two of the Couch to 5K programme, I still had half an hour left when I was done.

Couch To 5k – Week One, Run Three: Complete

First of all I had planned to go on the elliptical to burn of a bit more flab, but the weights were calling and I wanted to try something else.

I spent the time doing the same routine on the machines but at muuuuuuuuch lower weights. 10lbs instead of 25lbs, or 30lbs instead of 40lbs. To accommodate the change, I upped the reps in each set from 10 to 20.

Oooh, boy let me tell you, my body aches right now. Even the warm soak in the bath isn’t enough to completely chase away the memory of how tough that was. But it’s a different sort of tough. Rather than shuddering by the time I got to my eight count, because the weight was so intense, I found myself breezing through until about 15. Then I struggled and had to really push past the burning sensation Jit claims is a sign that the body is really getting the benefit. Then, I’d rest and do it again. And the burn would begin at 12. Then on the third set the burn would begin at 8.

Phew! By the end of it I felt far more like I do at the end of my LEAP sessions and I take that as a good sign. I’ve made the change because I’ve started to notice some bulges in my thighs that weren’t there before. I don’t think I’ve been at this long enough to call it mega muscle, but I don’t want to develop huge muscly thighs: if I do that, I still won’t be able to buy the jeans I want! What I’d much rather do is tone the muscle I have and build that lean stuff everyone is so keen on. It doesn’t have to be bulky, just enough to allow me to move around and burn of energy efficiently. That’s all.

And I’ve already been told that higher reps with lower weights are more effective for that sort of thing. So . . . I’ll give it a few weeks and see how that feels.

da shared brain signature

Leave a Reply

