Gym Day Eighteen: Don’t Stop When You’re Tired, Stop When You’re Done

I used to hate little sayings like that. Motivational snippets from those already way slimmer, more toned and fit than I was ever going to be. I remember growling at Jit the first time he said it and promising to poke him in the eye with the most jagged fingernail I had (he didn’t hear me). But now . . . I won’t say ‘I get it’ but I’m far more forgiving of it.

Gym today, doing the third run of the week following the Couch to 5k programme. I had barely started before my brain said ‘Fuck it! I’ve had enough.’ By the time I made it a third of the way I was gnashing my teeth and asking ‘Whhhhhhhhhhhhhhhy did I do this? Am I INSANE?’

Then something really odd happened (aside from the guy beside the treadmill in the muscle vest who, apparently, really likes the sight of his own biceps). I told myself ‘I’m not done.’ There was still a good 15 minutes to go, but I knew 5 of that was cool down. And, since this is the first week of the programme, none of my runs are longer than 60 seconds. So I said it again: ‘You’re not done, girl. Lift your chin, tuck in your hips, soften your knees and fucking run.’

And I did.

I ran through the remaining wpid-20151030_080514.jpgwalk/run cycles and made it to the end with a huge grin on my face. Not only had I done my third run of the week, but I’d marked the first of nine weeks which should (supposedly) get me running for 30 minutes three times a week. I was grinning like a loon—the other men must have thought I was mad.

So that’s something to be very pleased about. I’m less pleased about the way my boobs fly all over the place though. I’m guessing my sports bra isn’t quite up to the job of holding those things as I pound the treadmill, but there was a pleasant hypnotic quality about them that I do believe got me through the last 20 seconds of running. 😉 Must do something about that.

Couch To 5k – Week One, Run Three: Complete

Even better, I convinced myself that I wouldn’t be able to handle that bloody hill at the end of my ride home because my legs ached so much. Not only did I ace that hill (YUSSSH!) but I did it at speed, in the rain. ^_^

I have a lot to be proud of today. Not least heading out the front door when I could see the rain hadn’t stopped the way my weather app promised. Because, you see, I wasn’t done exercising for the week. :p But now I am. Now I can recuperate over the weekend, safe in the knowledge that I not only met my goal of three workouts per week, but I exceeded it (Monday: Gym, Tuesday: LEAP, Wednesday: park run, Thursday: Hip Hop Abs, Friday Gym).

Yikes. If I keep this up I’ll have to change my blog log line. 😉da shared brain signature

Leave a Reply

