Day Five: I Can’t Stand The Rain

I think I’m part cat. Or some other creature that hates getting wet. As soon as I see rain something inside me rebels and, generally, I refuse to leave the house. That’s why I’m particularly proud of myself this morning.

I started awake when I heard the boys chattering and went in their room to convince them that ‘it’s not morning yet.’ Though at 7am I think I was pushing my luck a bit. Anyway, because I’d be woken so sharply there was no way I was going back to sleep, so, despite feeling shitty (I’m still not very well) I rolled out of bed and left for the gym.

Now . . . if I’d realised it was raining before I got dressed I would have climbed back into bed and gym be damned. But I was out on the path with the front door closed behind me before I realised it was spitting. So off I went.

Today is the first day I haven’t had to rush off to be with the boys and I have to say I’m a little disappointed. I expected to want to stay for an extra half hour and push away at all the things I wasn’t so keen to stop before. But I’d had enough after an hour. In fact, all I managed was an extra five minutes. Then again . . . I went to the gym (!) so perhaps I should shut up and just be pleased that I went.

Lots of focus on the cardio today, pushing harder and further. One round of weights.

wpid-dsc_1853.jpgwpid-dsc_1852.jpgI’ve certainly discovered what I do and don’t like now. I’ve even figured out which machines are my favourites and which ones to avoid because they make sounds like death rattles as I use them. All in all, I think this is a good start to my second week and I’m glad I did it, despite the rain.

Can’t say what the rest of the week will be like though, since the weather isn’t looking great. My app says thunderstorms! o.O

da shared brain signature

Leave a Reply

