On Weight Loss

This exercise lark is all well and good, but I’ve already noticed that an hour in the gym only burns off something like 200 calories. Maybe 300 if I count the bike ride and I’m really (really) pushing myself.

Considering the fact that a packet of crisps is easily 250 calories, I’m not going to reduce my weight any time soon unless I spend hours and hours in the gym. Given that weight loss is the primary goal (since that will get me out of the diabetes danger zone and probably solve a bunch of other problems) I need to do something else on top of all the exercise.

According to all the info from the NHS, my Get Healthy coach, My Fitness Pal and pretty much anybody else you chat to, the average daily calorie intake of a healthy male or female should be around the 2,000 mark.

Ok. Fair enough.

If trying to lose weight, the NHS suggests lowering your daily calorie intake to around 1,600. If you’re speaking to someone specifically and tailoring a plan to your personal needs, it may be more or less than this. There are lots of helpful online tools to aid you and this is a good place to start if you’re curious.

I used My Fitness Pal for a good three months earlier in the year. I stopped because my phone was horrendously laggy and made the app a pain in the arse to use (who wants to stare at a black screen for three minutes just to tell a machine you ate a bag of crisps and feel guilty about it?!). But I’m going to have another go.

Right now, I’m not fixated on any particular plan or regime, but there are things I know I need to do that will help bring my daily calorie intake down. I’m not going to make a big deal of it, but I am going to check in kinda regularly if only so I can see, for myself, how and when things have changed.

I found some slips yesterday: print outs from the weight and BMI machines you find in the back of Boots. Back in 2012 (before I got pregnant), I was actively loosing weight. In 2014, after the boys were born and I was thinking semi-sensibly about food, I got all the way down to 113kg. Considering my last check-in put me at 124kg, that’s fascinating. And depressing.

But it does prove that losing the weight is possible. I’ve done it before. For the life of me I can’t remember what I did: I have a vague memory of eating salad for lunch every day while I worked my job and having snacks of fruit and rice cakes, but working a 9-5 job is considerably less stressful than having no job, looking after two children full time and trying to build a writing career all while running a household.

Heh, that’s my excuse and I’m sticking to it! 😉

Anyway I’m going to try the same sorts of things and see what difference it makes. Also, rather than putting my stats into the gym posts, as I have done up until now, I’ll have a separate ‘weigh-in’ or ‘check’in’ post once a fortnight with those numbers.

It worked before, I can make it work again.

da shared brain signature

Leave a Reply

